Fresh Music

Hawk - Africa She Too Can Cry

Hawk`s second album and the first to feature the new lineup which included Julian Laxton (Freedoms Children) and Les Goode (A Cads) among others. This reissue included an updated version of the "African Day" suite from the first album as well as song penned by Freedoms Children major domo, Ramsay Mackay. Although the African rock roots are still intact there is a harder edge to the sound mainly due to the guitar  interplay between Laxton and Mark Kahn. The original albums tracks, re-mastered, are from the UK version of the album, released by Charisma Records ( the SA version had a different tracklisting). There are bonus tracks galore, rare pics from the UK tour and extensive liner notes.

Tracklisting :

  1. Uvuyo (Ornellas/Kahn/MacKay) 3.14
  2. Elegy for Eden (R.MacKay) 2.41
  3. The rolling of the bones (R.MacKay) 2.44
  4. Dark side of the moon (R.Mackay) 2.58
  5. War talk (Kahn/Ornellas) 2.43
  6. Africa (Ornellas) 2.50
  7. African Day suite 16.26

including :African Sun, This elephant must die, Beaters, Hunt, The elephant is dead, Nglovu ephili.

Yebo mama (Mackay) 1.37

Sunset (Ornellas) 1.12

 Bonus tracks :

  1. Orang Outang (Mackay) 3.54
  2. Kalahari Dry (Ornellas) 2.37
  3. Mumbo Jumbo (Mackay) 3.40
  4. Hunter 4.04 (Dave Ornellas)
  5. In my youth (McKay/Ornellas) 4.56

Recommended for you


RETRO FRESH is an imprint label dedicated to the preservation of classic South African pop & rock music of the last 30 years ... each release, many available for the first time on cd, has been digitally remastered with bonus tracks including live, studio out takes, demos and unreleased songs. Where possible the original artwork has been retained but has been extended to include great pics, in-depth liner notes written by some of the country's leading music journalists, rare memorabilia and artist commentary. All releases are artist approved.

So from the Afro rock sounds of Hawk and the bluesy wail of Otis Waygood to the ethotronic funk of éVoid and the psychotic psychedelia of Falling Mirror RETRO FRESH brings you the best musical memories...